1396: Another Interlude

I need another break. I haven’t gone anywhere this time, but I just… need a break.

Why? Well, several reasons. Firstly, I quite simply feel like shite right now, in more ways than one. I feel like I’m coming down with something — feeling super-tired, bunged up and finding it tough to get up in the morning — and have also spent the past few weeks feeling more than a little depressed.

As those who have dealt with depression will know, there doesn’t have to be anything in particular that “causes” a depressive episode, they just come and go at times. It sucks, but all you can really do is just ride it out until things feel better, and preferably not provoke it as much as possible.

Which brings me slightly to my point; with this piece of writing, I think I’m provoking myself a bit. As regular commenter and good friend Jud astutely observed the other day, at least part of the work I’m doing on this current piece of creative writing is drawn from my own experience. There’s a healthy dose of fiction in there too, just to be clear, but there are certain aspects of the whole thing that I’m drawing directly from my own experiences and memories, and that’s proving to be more difficult than I thought it would be.

It’s not that I haven’t written about my thoughts, feelings and memories before, of course — particularly when it comes to teaching — but I haven’t drawn on those memories for such a sustained period of time in quite a while, and that’s the thing that’s proving to be somewhat challenging.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m going to finish the story and see it through to its conclusion, but depending on how busy I am and how my mental wellbeing for the day has been, I may find myself having to take occasional breaks along the way, so I apologise in advance for any other posts like this one along the way.

Taking breaks provides me with the opportunity to gather my thoughts, relax and vent a little steam. It also provides the potential for talking about the creative process, should I feel so inclined. And perhaps most importantly, it takes some of the pressure off me, meaning that I can enjoy the writing process more in the long run rather than subjecting myself to arbitrary deadlines that matter to no-one other than me.

So yes. Tonight is a break. I got back from my Japanese evening class a short while ago, and in just a moment I’m going to go and sit in bed and play either Super Mario 3D Land or 999. Or perhaps a bit of both. That seems like a particularly wise course of action at this juncture.

Normal business to resume shortly.

おやすみなさい!

3 thoughts on “1396: Another Interlude

  1. I can understand the courage and therefore effort required to write like this – I was going to write about my past, but after my initial comments to you which precipitated thinking about it, I found that the demons that had been well and truly dealt with, shoved into the past as negative rubbish while I took the positive forward – always my strong-held belief for coping with crap – raised their ugly heads, penetrated my thoughts at unexpected moments, took over my dreaming mind (both day and night dreaming) and generally made me back-peddle furiously.
    What a coward I am. There are some things that were done to me in the name of experimental medicine that should see the light of day. There were other things done in my childhood and teens that carved my pathway even more. But I shudder to put pen to paper – well fingers to keyboard I should say these days. The mind is a traitor. It holds the info locked in cabinets in the basement guarded by crocodiles, as Douglas Adams said, refusing to give it to you when you want it, only to release it in torrents when you haven’t asked. At the merest suggestion that you might open the file it cascades the documents over your head till you are wading in it. How rude!!
    Anyway, Pete, I applaud you. When I have controlled my errant demons I might try to get them into some order. Meanwhile I will watch your creative efforts with admiration, not to mention anticipation – I am already hooked on this new story of yours – as I have been by your past ones. Anyone coming across this site should not hesitate to check out your other stories – they will be bowled over. You handle the delicate issues with care, kid gloves, yet without shying away from the truth you are disclosing. Keep going – take respite days off as you are doing – then attack it again. I am sure I’m not the only one watching and waiting and supporting you. Jud

Leave a comment